EJBH’s Gift of Expression

In English History, I learned about the important relationship that the Queen has with Parliament. Although her role is formal, she has the right to be consulted, to encourage and to warn her ministers.

My grandmother guided our family in much the same manner. Her wise counsel was precisely stated through perfect penmanship and spoken word alike.

Cindy Lou has been encouraging me to document my grandmother’s signature sayings, such as “Keep your own counsel,” “Have the courage of your convictions,” and “Heavenly day, what next?” This morning, someone asked me a question that left me speechless. Another one of her sayings immediately came to mind: “If you’ll forgive me for not answering, I’ll forgive you for asking.”

This entry was posted in Family, Miscellanea. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

