Family Ties to Holy Cross

Now that I’m back home where I belong, I’m especially appreciative of my family’s ties to Columbus, which go back to the 1830s.

Thanks to my ancestors, I have discovered a lovely local landmark: Holy Cross, the oldest Catholic Church in Columbus. My great-great-grandparents, Mary and John, were married at Holy Cross in 1887. Their son, John, Jr., married Julia there in 1910. More recently, my cousin spent the last 22 years of his priesthood in residence at Holy Cross.

For me, Holy Cross is a midday refuge. There, I can not only grow in my Catholic faith, but also enjoy being in beautiful 19th century surroundings. During his thoughtful, carefully delivered homilies, Fr. Stluka increases my knowledge of and appreciation for saints like Elizabeth Ann Seton, John Neumann, Agnes, Francis de Sales and Thomas Aquinas, just in the last few weeks alone. When I walk back to work, I’m rejuvenated spiritually, mentally and aesthetically, ready for the afternoon ahead.

On John and Julia’s 100th wedding anniversary, my parents made a great archival discovery at Holy Cross. This is the record of their marriage, written not only in longhand, but also in Latin. And here are Julia and John around the time of their wedding.

This entry was posted in Columbus, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Ties to Holy Cross

  1. Cecilia says:

    Sacramental records are true treasures. I just taught using some today.

  2. Cindy Lou says:

    I just cannot get over how much EJBH looked like Julia did in that photograph. I think that it is the smile….

Leave a Reply

