“The Kindergarten Teacher” Is On Guideposts’ 100 Inspiring Mothers Honor Roll

James Heinmiller, 1960When my grandpa wasn’t watching The Lawrence Welk Show from his black rocker, he sat in the living room near the radio, crossed his wingtips and read. Most times, he was engrossed in The Columbus Dispatch or a Zane Grey novel, but often he’d page through an issue of his subscription to Guideposts.

Founded in 1945 by Norman Vincent Peale, author of The Power of Positive Thinking, this monthly magazine shares true stories by ordinary people that inspire readers to apply their faith to their daily lives, overcome obstacles and achieve their potential. Each story is a guidepost showing a path to hope, comfort, support and encouragement.

I like to keep up with Guideposts during visits to my dentist, as well as on Twitter. This past January 31, this caught my eye:

“Celebrate the 100th anniversary of Mother’s Day by giving your mom an extra special gift this year: Honor her by sending us her photo and, in 100 words or less, telling us how she impacted your life, in the unique way only she could. We’ll be featuring 100 inspiring moms on our website, starting April 20.”

So I got to work. I browsed through our photos and picked just the right one that illustrated exactly what I wanted to convey about my mother.

At FDR's Little White House, 1974

I submitted it along with my exactly-100-word story:

“This photo my dad snapped of my mother and me at FDR’s Little White House in 1974 captures what it’s like to be the only child of this loving, giving retired Kindergarten teacher. In the wonderful home she created for us, I learned how to live our Catholic faith by putting others first, caring for elderly parents and being a good friend. Wearing outfits she made for me, I developed new skills through craft and cooking activities she planned. The excellent education she generously provided inspired my love of reading, writing and lifelong learning. She’s still my favorite traveling companion.”

Guideposts received over 500 tributes to mothers. While she didn’t make the list of 100 Inspiring Mothersmy mother is on the Honor Roll, which Guideposts created to celebrate all the mothers it met through readers’ stories, but who were not included on the original list. Scroll down the page to Suzanne Heinmiller Butler and you’ll see our picture.

This entry was posted in Family, Miscellanea, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Kindergarten Teacher” Is On Guideposts’ 100 Inspiring Mothers Honor Roll

  1. Cecilia Moore says:

    Dear Bee,

    I cannot imagine a more lovely tribute!

  2. Patty Heinmiller says:

    I just read this and it brought a smile to my face. Your mother (and your father, also) is such a truly good person, she certainly deserves the tribute.

Leave a Reply

